Open Climate Knowledge launches a Force11 Working Group—Join Up!

Open Climate Knowledge is an open research project supported by GenR. The project aims at making research related to climate change 100% open ASAP. To do this two strands of work are planned: firstly, data mining of open research paper repositories to build an open research knowledge base, and secondly, to make a plan for how to transition to 100% open. There is an open invitation to join the Force11 working group with an introductory video conference taking place on February 11th.

The climate crisis of the predicted atmosphere temperatures rising to 1.5C + makes it imperative that research related to climate change be put to better use by being open and digitally connected.

We are concerned with making all aspects of research open, but as an example, one analysis shows that less than 30% of research papers related to climate change are Open Access (Tai and Robinson 2018). This must change now!

We have a powerful data mining software OpenNotebook (https://github.com/OCKProject/climate) that can search open repositories using linked data dictionaries based on Wikidata. We can then retrieve metadata and documents and apply analysis with machine learning, creating: collections, repositories, develop knowledge graphs, annotate, and more. 

You’re welcome to join the working group — we need volunteers with many different skill sets from data scientists to designers. If you would like to find out more about the types of tasks and skills that need covering see our GitHub issue tracker #WG Tasks.

If you have any questions DM @OCKProject.

Open Climate Knowledge Working Group

You can request to join the working group by signing up here

Launch video conference

The first working group meeting (public) will take place via Jitsi video conference platform (https://meet.jit.si/OCK) on February 11th 2020, 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET – duration 60 minutes. Dial in possible. This first meeting will be an open public meeting to give as many people a chance to learn about the project. You can optionally register on this public CryptPad.

The group does much of its work via GitHub: https://github.com/OCKProject/Force11-OCKWG

References

All sources can be found for download in the Zotero public group library ‘OCK’: https://www.zotero.org/groups/ock

Tai, Travis C., and James P. W. Robinson. ‘Enhancing Climate Change Research With Open Science’. Frontiers in Environmental Science 6 (2018). https://doi.org/10/gf64mq.

OCKProject

Posted by OCKProject

100% open collaborative research for climate change knowledge—using data mining & open science publishing | #OCK. An open research project founded by Peter Murray-Rust and Simon Worthington (GenR).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *